9 Laoagueñas honored during 2nd Sunshine Women awarding rites

LAOAG CITY – In celebration of Women’s Month, the city government of Laoag and the Laoag City Local Council for Women have honored nine women for their outstanding achievements in their respective fields during the 2nd Sunshine Women awarding rites held here recently.
Laoag City Mayor Michael V. Fariñas led the awarding of trophies, certificates and bouquets to the awardees, who excelled in various fields.

“We give honor and recognition to our women for their accomplishments. Days were gone when our women just stayed at home (as plain housewives). Now, they occupy positions of power and capable of leadership. They can do what men can do. Enormous gains have been made by women in development,” Mayor Farinas said.

The awardees are Mylene Isabel Pascual, Dr. Venus Taylan and Segundina Jacinto (Professional Category, Women-Adult); Juanita Gabriel, Erlinda Paulino and Mercy Bagaoisan (Non-Professional Category, Women-Adult) and Guia Allyson Marcos, April Bareng and Fatima Singson (Young Women Category).

The Sunshine Women Award has become an annual event to honor Laoagueñas who have made outstanding contributions in the betterment of the community.

Every awardee is nominated by the Barangay Council, youth-oriented group and non-government organizations. (Theo S. Guiang/ with report from Carlo Canares/PIA)