Legarda to Lead Mindanao IP Assembly in Davao Del Norte

After the assembly of Luzon Indigenous Peoples (IPs) held in Baguio City last week, the chair of the Senate Committee on Cultural Communities and Committee on Climate Change Senator Loren Legarda will now lead the assembly of Mindanao IPs at the Provincial Capitol of Davao del Norte in Tagum City on September 16-17, 2011.

This Mindanao IP Assembly seeks the perspectives of various IP leaders in Mindanao and identify appropriate measures to address their identified concerns.

Among the Mindanao IP groups participating in the Tagum City assembly are the Bajao, Subanen, Kalibugan, Yakari, Bukidnon, Umayamnon, Manobo, Matigsalog, Higa-onon, Mandaya, Bagobo, Mansaka, Dibabawon, Ata, Sama, Manguangan, B’laan, Tagacaolo, T’boli, Aromanen, Kulamanen, and the Teduray.

Also participating to hear the concerns of the attending IPs are the local government officials of Tagum City, Davao City, Iligan City, Zamboanga City, Isabela City, Malaybalay City; and the municipalities of the provinces of Davao del Norte, Davao del Sur, Davao Oriental, Compostela Valley, Bukidnon, Basilan, Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur, Zamboanga Sibugay and Misamis Occidental.

Also invited to participate are all the regional directors in Mindanao of the Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR), Department of Agriculture (DA), Department of Agrarian Reform (DAR), Department of Health (DOH), Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD), Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG), Department of Labor and Employment (DOLE), Department of Tourism (DOT), Department of Justice (DOJ), among other national government agencies.

Aside from the open forum, there will be special presentations on Climate Change and its Impacts on Indigenous Peoples; Reducing Emissions from Deforestation and Forest Degradation (REDD+) Programme; Disaster Risk Reduction: Use of Geohazards Information; ILO Convention 169: Indigenous and Tribal Peoples Convention; and Sustainable Management of Schools of Living Tradition.