Winners in Ilocos Norte polls proclaimed

LAOAG CITY, May 13 – The provincial board of canvassers (PBOC) has proclaimed Thursday morning the winning candidates for the provincial elective positions upon the completion of the consolidated votes cast on the May 9 elections in the province.

Lawyer Marino V. Salas, Ilocos Norte’s provincial election supervisor and chair of the provincial board of canvassers (PBOC), disclosed that the members the board of canvassers were immediately convened upon the return here of the election officers of Dingras and Laoag City who went to Sta. Rosa, Laguna on Tuesday evening for the repair of damaged canvassing and consolidation system (CCS) kits. The damaged CCS caused the delay of the transmission of the election results from the two areas to the PBOC.

The newly-proclaimed elected provincial officials of Ilocos Norte are the following: Congressman Rodolfo Fariñas (first district); Congresswoman Imelda R. Marcos (second district); Governor Imee Marcos; Vice Governor Eugenio Angelo Barba; Provincial Board Members (first district) – Ria Farinas, lawyer Juan Conrado Respicio II, lawyer Vicentito Lazo, lawyer Donald Nicolas and Dr. Rogelio Balbag; (second district) Matthew Joseph Marcos – Manotoc, Mariano Marcos II, Dr. -Ramon Gaoat, lawyer Da Vinci Crisostomo and James Paul Nalupta.

Salas said the proclamation of winners in the towns and cities of Ilocos Norte except for Dingras and Laoag City was held on Tuesday.

He also reported that the turn-out of votes in the province in the recent polls was very high with 85.30 percent.
“Out of the 378,786 registered voters of Ilocos Norte in the May 9 polls, a total of 323,138 cast their votes and this is considered as a high percentage of turn-out of votes and was a clear indication of the successful conduct of election in the province,” he explained.

He concluded that the conduct of election in the province was generally peaceful, secured and safe. (Freddie G. Lazaro/PIA- 1 Ilocos Norte)