Minimum wages for domestic workers in Ilocos Region set at P3,500 and P2,500

Domestic workers in the region will get pay hike after the Regional Tripartite Wages and Productivity Board – I issued Wage Order No. RB1-DW-01. The wage order took effect on October 2, 2016, 15 days after its publication in the Ilocos Herald on September 17.

Wage Order No. RB1-DW-01 sets the monthly minimum wage of domestic workers in cities and first class municipalities at P3,500 and at P2,500 for those in other municipalities.

The RTWPB-I decided to adjust the minimum wages of domestic workers after regionwide consultations and public hearings in June and July to enable them to cope with the rising cost of living.

Republic Act No. 10361 or an Act Instituting Policies for the Protection and Welfare of Domestic Workers or Batas Kasambahay which took effect on February 10, 2013, mandated a P2,500 monthly minimum wage for domestic workers in Metro Manila; P2,000 for those in cities and first class municipalities and P1,500 in other municipalities. The law directs the Wage Boards to review and if proper, determine and adjust the minimum wage rates of domestic workers one year from its effectivity and periodically thereafter.

Covered by the wage order are domestic workers, whether on a live-in or live-out arrangements such as but not limited to general househelp, yaya, cook, gardener, laundry person or any person who regularly performs domestic work in one household on an occupational basis. On the other hand, service providers, family drivers, children under foster family arrangements and persons who perform work occasionally or sporadically and not on an occupational basis are excluded.

The wage order also provides that complaints for non-compliance shall be filed in the field or regional offices of the DOLE-RO I and shall go through the 30-day mandatory conciliation under the Single-Entry Approach (SENA) to exhaust all efforts for settlement.

Schedule for the orientations on the wage order is as follows: October 17 – Dagupan City for Pangasinan; October 19 – City of San Fernando for La Union and October 21 – Laoag City for Ilocos Norte and Ilocos Sur.

The RTWPB-I is composed of DOLE-RO I Director Henry John S. Jalbuena, Chairperson; DTI-RO I Director Florante O. Leal and NEDA-RO I Director Nestor G. Rillon, Vice-Chairpersons representing the government sector; Mr. Jerry V. Parlan and Salvador R. Poserio representing the management sector; and Mr. Eliseo P. Flora and Mrs. Catherine Q. Pangan representing the labor sector.