Ilocano cops honored thru PNP awards, renew commitment to provincial dev’t efforts  

Fourteen Ilocano police officers were honored by the Provincial Government of Ilocos Norte (PGIN) and the Ilocos Norte Provincial Police Office (INPPO) during the Philippine National Police (PNP) Awards on February 5 held at the Provincial Capitol grounds.

The awarding rites, which also recognized outstanding police stations and civic volunteer groups, was held as part of the weeklong celebration of the 198th Foundation Anniversary of Ilocos Norte.

During the ceremony, Governor Imee R. Marcos thanked the entire police force for their bravery, courage and talent ensuring the public safety and internal security of Ilocos Norte.

“Late it may be…this ceremony is heartfelt, and we are truly grateful to each one of you.Maraming salamat mula sa aming lahat, mga public servant at opisyal ng Ilocos Norte,at mula sa lahat ng taumbayan,” Governor Marcos said.

With the joint efforts of the provincial government and INPPO, Ilocos Norte maintains a high drug and crime solution efficiency in the region.

Meanwhile, INPPO Director SSUPT Jose Melecio Nartates in his short speech renewed the commitment of the police force in line with the development initiatives of the provincial government.

“The police force and our close multipliers will double our efforts in achieving more, not only in [maintaining] peace and order, but in the overall development programs the provincial government,” he said.

Police officers, namely PCI Amador M. Quiocho, PCI Dennis M. Sumalileng, PSUPT Jose C. Calpito III, PSI Paul Benedict R. Parado, PSUPT Adolfo T. Rafanan, PCI Dexter Diovic T. Corpuz, PCI Jonathan B. Papay, PCI Randy C. Baoit, PSUPT Leland T. Benigno, PCI Rodrigo B. Galino, PSUPT Dexter Mariano T. Paredes, SPO4 Ramelito F. Piedad and PSUPT Albert E. Ocon were recognized as the outstanding Ilocano police officers.

Among the notable awardees was the only policewoman, SPO1 Aurora Joy Manuela, who was also lauded as one of the Country’s Outstanding Police Officer in Service last year. Most recently, she was cited as one of the top 10 Ilocanos for 2016 of The Ilocos Times.

Moreover, the Laoag City Police Station was recognized as the Best Performing City Police Station for their worthy contributions in crime prevention and solution in the province.

The Best Performing Municipal Station was conferred to Paoay Municipal Police Station while San Nicolas Municipal Police Station and the Dingras Municipal Police Station earned the second and third Best Municipal Stations, respectively.

The PGIN and INPPO also gave due recognition to Motorist Anti-Street Crime Operatives (MASCO) and Barangay Peacekeeping Action Team (BPAT) Association for Direct Operations (MASCOBADO), noting their extraordinary support and cooperation in assisting the local police force.

Awarded as the Most Active MASCOBADO and the Most Active Barangay Peacekeeping and Action Team was the Laoag City group while the Most Active Municipal BPAT were conferred to Dingras group followed by San Nicolas group and Bacarra group, respectively.

Governor Marcos remains hopeful that the peace and order situation of Ilocos Norte will remain highly stable with the cooperation of the provincial government and INPPO together with the support of various civilian groups led by MASCOBADO.—John Michael Mugas, PGIN-CMO