DOST awards “Batman” among Outstanding Young Scientists of 2017

The Department of Science and Technology (DOST) recently recognized outstanding young scientists for this year, including one who specializes in bats. A student of the University of the Philippines Los Baños, Phillip A. Alviola reveals he has been fascinated with bats since he was in high school.

“Studying bats, basically, it’s out of interest from high school and college. I was interested sabehaviornila, their interaction with humans, yung mga possible contacts with the disease, novel diseases essentially. We are finding out if some diseases which are familiar may have come from bats,” Alviola said.

“My interest came from understanding kung paano yung mode of transfer from bats to humans and how to avoid it and in the future what are the plans and management to prevent that kind of contact,” Alviola added.

Aside from Alviola, DOST recognized seven other young scientists, namely: Aletta Concepcion T. Yniguez from the University of the Philippines Diliman; Lanndon A. Ocampo from the University of San Carlos; Mario Antonio L. Jiz II from the Research Institutefor Tropical Medicine; Nathaniel P. Hermosa II from the University of the Philippines Diliman; Jeffrey S. Perez from the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology; Jayeel S. Cornelio from Ateneo de Manila University; and Krista Danielle S. Yu from De La Salle University.
DOST also recognized other remarkable individuals in the field of research and development, technology commercialization, and science administration.

Recognized in the Outstanding Research and Development Award are Dr. Nathaniel P. Hermosa II in Basic Research category, and Dr. Lucille V. Abad and Dr. Maria Patricia V. Azanzain the Applied Research category. Abad and Azanza are from the DOST-Philippine Nuclear Research Institute and DOST-Industrial Technology Development Institute respectively.

Dr. Jude L. Sasing, Ilustre I. Guloy Jr. and Dr. Ramon B. Gustilo received the Outstanding Technology Commercialization Award. Meanwhile, Raymond Girard R. Tan of De La Salle University received the Outstanding Science Administrator Award.

DOST Sec. Fortunato de la Peña and Sec. Benjamin Diokno representing Pres. Rodrigo Roa Duterte, handed out the plaques, certificates, and cash prizes to the awardees.

The DOST awards are conferred during the celebration of the National Science and Technology Week (NSTW) at the World Trade Center, Pasay City, which was slated on July 11-15, 2017 featuring forums, technology demonstrations, exhibits, and other activities that cater to all ages. (Joshua Lao, DOST-STII)