Laoag marks 49th Charter Day

LAOAG CITY, June 19 – Laoag City celebrated its 49th charter day when Malacañang declared June 19 a special non-working holiday.

The declaration was issued through Proclamation No. 780 signed on June 11 by Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa, Jr. by the authority of President Benigno S. Aquino III.

Malacañang said the people of Laoag City must be given full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies.

Laoag City mayor Chevylle Fariñas led a simple ceremony at the city hall in celebration of the city’s charter day.

A thanksgiving mass was also held at the city hall auditorium immediately after the ceremony.

Elected officials, school heads, department heads and city hall employees joined in the activities.

Laoag became a city in 1965 by virtue of Republic Act 4584 and was approved through a plebiscite.

Laoag remains the capital city of Ilocos Norte. (CHERRY JOY D. GARMA)